9 out of 11 Articles

Norway, Ireland, Spain Announce Recognition of Palestine As A State

Norwegian Prime Minister Jonas Gahr Støre, Irish Prime Minister Simon Harris, and Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez announced on Wednesday, May 22, that their country will formally recognize the Palestinian Authority as the state of Palestine. The recognition will take effect on May 28.

“There cannot be peace in the Middle East if there is no recognition,” Støre said. He added, “The terror has been committed by Hamas and militant groups who are not supporters of a two-state solution and the state of Israel.”

Harris linked his recognition of Palestine to the Irish struggle for independence. According to Harris, Ireland will recognize Palestine “because we believe in freedom and justice.”

In response, Israeli Foreign Minister Israel Katz ordered the immediate return to Israel of the Israeli ambassador to Norway for consultations. He also ordered the return of Israel’s ambassador to Ireland. “I am sending a clear message today - Israel will not be complacent against those who undermine its sovereignty and endanger its security,” Katz said.

“Ireland and Norway intend to send a message to the Palestinians and the whole world today: Terrorism works. After Hamas committed the largest massacre of Jews since the Holocaust, after committing the most horrific sexual crimes the world has ever seen, these countries chose to give a reward to Hamas and Iran and recognize a Palestinian state.” (INN / VFI News)